Board Up The Blog

Exodus: Movement of Jah Writer

So, no snow, but it’s still cold, and there continue to be plenty of cloudy days that look like Opeth cover art. I’ve built up some momentum on this blog, producing material on a semi–regular basis that gets read by someone other than myself, and have come to appreciate music on a couple of levels in the process of writing about it. But, but as your boy T.S. Eliot said in The Waste Land (which is pretty much the doom metal of poetry), April is the cruellest month, and I’m sad to say I will be writing for it a lot less as of now. A new job you say? No. Someone’s paying you to write elsewhere? No. Prison? Again, no. I’ll be posting a lot less due to the lack of an internet connection at sea (oh yeah, I’m going sailing). However, between tarring the masts, varnishing the top deck and being keelhauled, I’ll still be listening to and writing about music, and there’s nothing quite like new circumstances to inspire a new perspective and drum a bit of life into a) well, life b) music. I intend to fill up my iPod (note to self: buy iPod) with the hope of some immersive listening experiences in a unique environment.

Having given it some thought, the artists I think I’m going to listen to are ones who create a sense of immersion in another world, with an expansive feel and a musical breadth and depth that borders on the philosophical. Which, of course, includes Mastodon.

Watch this space.

Mickey black ink

All aboard the Good Ship Radical.

 

3 thoughts on “Board Up The Blog

  1. If you’re interested in other suggestions, I’d include Isis, Mono (Japan) and King Woman. Their music appeals to me more as soundscapes than songs in a lot of ways. Great to travel and explore with.

    • Hey dude, thanks for the recommendations. I’ve got some more time at sea coming up (hence why this reply is so late), so I’ll give them all a listen. I think the soundscape aspect is a big part of what works and what doesn’t.

      • Vishalicious – thank you for the Isis recommendation. I’ve known about Isis for a long time, but never processed how influential they’ve been upon metal. That said, I’ve not heard anything else quite like them. Had a great time listening to it at sea and in windy weather.

Leave a Reply

